Share The Road

Bicycle Friendly Communities

About the Program

The Bicycle Friendly Community Award (BFC) Program provides incentives, hands-on assistance, and award recognition for communities that actively support bicycling. The BFC Program was launched by the Share the Road Cycling Coalition in Canada in August 2010 in partnership with the Washington based League of American Bicyclists.  

In Canada, the Canadian Automobile Association (South Central Ontario) is the major sponsor of the program, with additional support coming from Trek Canada.

City of Ottawa receives Gold designation in 2013

Communities complete a thorough application and are judged in five categories often referred to as the Five “ Es": Engineering, Education, Encouragement, Enforcement, and Evaluation & Planning. A community must demonstrate achievements in each of the five categories in order to be considered for an award on the Bronze, Silver, Gold or Platinum or Diamond level. Applications are judged by a volunteer panel of expert judges and communities with more significant achievements in these areas receive higher awards. The BFC application is a great self-assessment tool, as communities see where they can improve in each of these categories.

The 5 ‘Es’

ENGINEERING - Physical infrastructure and hardware to support cycling

EDUCATION- Programs that ensure the safety, comfort and convenience of cyclists and fellow road users

ENCOURAGEMENT - Incentives, promotions and opportunities that inspire people and enable them to ride

ENFORCEMENT - Equitable laws and programs that ensure that cyclists and motorists are held accountable

EVALUATION & PLANNING - Processes that demonstrate a commitment to measuring results and planning for the future


2016 Bicycle Friendly Community Awards

The Spring 2016 round of BFC awards were very exciting.  We were pleased to see two communities that had previously been given Honourable Mentions, Mississippi Mills and Niagara Falls, receive Bronze level BFC awards.  Mississippi Mills joins the growing number of smaller municipalities making excellent use of the BFC Program and reaping the rewards, while Niagara Falls joins Grimsby, Pelham, Thorold, St. Catharine's and Welland as Niagara Region BFCs.  The City of Burlington also moved up to Silver from Bronze (2012) thanks to an impressive list of achievements and partnerships across the 5 Es. Burlington is now positioned as a leader in Halton Region, the first region in Ontario to see all of their lower-tier municipalities become BFC certified.  We look forward to working with all of our newly certified BFCs to continue to make cycling safer and more accessible to all of their residents.

Our most recent round of Bicycle Friendly Communities awards were distributed at the 2016 Ontario Bike Summit. For a Press Release about the most recent awards, click here


Thunder Bay (left) and Toronto (right) receive their BFC Awards at the 2015 Ontario Bike Summit

If you are interested in applying for the BFC program, the next round of applications will close on October 14, 2016. If you begin an application, you will automatically be updated about the new deadline once it is announced. To receive announcements about the deadline without beginning an application, please email to be added to the contact list for all BFC updates. To begin your application, check out the Getting Started page.  If you have would like to log in to the Bicycle Friendly Communities application page, click here to login with an existing account, or click here to set up a new application. Please contact if your community should have any questions. You can also find the Frequently Asked Questions section about the BFC Program HERE.



30 Communities in Ontario are Bicycle Friendly Communities

View Bicycle Friendly Communities - June 2013 in a larger map





The 2016 Bicycle Friendly Communities Yearbook


To view past BFC yearbooks, click here.

Close ×

Subscribe to the Share The Road Newsletter

Join the STR Mailing List :