Share The Road

Our Board

Ed McMahon, Chair
Partner, CORE International Inc.

Ed is a partner at CORE International Inc., a management consulting firm specializing in organizational design and structure. He is a recognized expert in managerial leadership and team effectiveness and governance in the not-for-profit sector, specializing in federated not-for-profits. Ed began his consulting career with Deloitte Consulting and has managed several national and international practices for various consulting firms. In 2004 Ed established Teamworx, a consulting firm devoted to helping organizations create highly effective teams.
For a number of years Ed was a sessional instructor at McMaster University’s DeGroote School of Business where he taught leadership and management at the graduate and undergraduate level. He has extensive volunteer experience ranging from Cubs and Scouts Canada, the Canadian Association of Management Consultants, to Habitat for Humanity, where he recently ended his term as Chair of the national board of directors.
Stephen Ellis, Treasurer
Stephen is an executive leader with extensive, multi-disciplinary experience in the financial service industry. He brings over twenty years of Board and Committee experience in the profit and not-for-profit sectors to Share the Road. Stephen also brings a strong governance and policy development background. His working life has allowed him to build a solid understanding of finance, operations, technology, and regulatory affairs. Stephen is a confident listener, communicator, and consensus builder, able to motivate and align all stakeholders towards the achievement of common goals.
Stephen is an avid cyclist and brings this important stakeholder perspective to his work with the Share the Road board.
Mary Lou Tanner, Board Member
FCIP, RPP, Partner and Principal Planner, NPG Planning Solutions
Mary Lou is a seasoned active transportation and transportation planning executive with extensive experience helping major municipalities in Ontario plan and execute safe and effective multi-use transportation networks. Mary Lou has worked as a member of a number of regional and municipal governments in Ontario including the City of Hamilton (where she was a Senior Planner and later, the Manager of Infrastructure Planning), Halton Region (Chief Planner), Region of Niagara (Director and Manager, Planning and Public Works, and Chief Planner) and the City of Burlington (Director and Chief Planner, Deputy City Manager).   
David Mclaughlin, Board Member
MES, MCIP, RPP, Senior Project Manager, National Active Transportation Planning and Design Lead: Canada, WSP

Dave is a multi-modal transportation planner with extensive experience in preparing transportation master plans, cycling and trail system network strategies and design guidelines, as well as transit and TDM planning and policy development. He is WSP’s Active Transportation Planning and Design lead in Canada, one of WSP’s leading national urban mobility and complete streets specialists and is often involved in projects from the planning and approval stage through functional and detailed design stages.
Dave is a full member of the Canadian Institute of Planners and the Institute of Transportation Engineers, a member of ITE’s Pedestrian and Bicycle Council, a member of the Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals (APBP) and sits on the Ontario Traffic Council’s Active Transportation Committee. He is co-author of Ontario Traffic Manual Book 18: Cycling Facilities (2013) and MTO’s Bikeway Design Manual (2014) and is currently leading a team developing a Provincial Cycling Network Strategy for the Province of Ontario and the City of Toronto’s on-street bikeway design guidelines. Dave has extensive experience in the development of sustainable and active transportation (AT) master plans, bicycle parking guidelines, Class EAs, AT facility guidelines and separated bikeway functional and detailed designs.
Eleanor McMahon, Founder & Board Member
CEO, Trans Canada Trail

Eleanor’s career has included senior roles in business, government and the not-for- profit sector and began on Parliament Hill where she served as Press Secretary to Prime Minister Jean Chrétien. She also held senior roles with the Canadian Chamber of Commerce, Petro-Canada, United Way Ottawa, the Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women and the Ontario Medical Association.
The tragic death of Eleanor’s husband, Ontario Provincial Police Sergeant Greg Stobbart - killed in June 2006 while cycling - inspired Eleanor’s desire to to improve cycling safety in Ontario. Learning the driver had several convictions for driving under suspension led her to advocate for Greg’s Law (2009) as well as her desire to engineer legislative and societal change. In 2007, she launched the Share the Road Cycling Coalition, Ontario’s cycling policy and advocacy organization.
In 2014, seeking to continue her cycling and road safety work, Eleanor was elected MPP for Burlington. She was appointed to the Cabinet in 2016 as Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport where she announced a $100M investment in cycling infrastructure and several changes to the Highway Traffic Act. In 2018 she was appointed President of the Treasury Board.
Ms. McMahon is currently the CEO of the Trans Canada Trail
Diane Freeman, Board Member
P.Eng. FCAE, FEC, Ward 4 Councillor - City of Waterloo

Diane Freeman is a Professional Engineer with over 25 years of engineering and project management experience.  She is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineers, the organization that recognizes accomplished engineers, who are dedicated to the application of science and engineering principles in the interest of the country, and a Fellow of Engineers Canada the national organization of the 12 engineering regulators that license the country's 295,000 members of the profession.  Diane also has over 25 years of Board Governance Experience including serving in a variety of leadership roles.
Diane believes in the importance of volunteering her time and talents.  She served the Engineering profession for over 25 years on the Board of Professional Engineers Ontario as well as the Board of Engineers Canada.  On these boards, she held many executive positions including President of Professional Engineers of Ontario in 2010-11.
Diane has served on the Council of the City of Waterloo continuously since 2006.  During her over 12 years on Council, Diane has been an unrelenting champion for building accessible communities by planning, funding and installing sidewalks, trails and dedicated bicycle infrastructure. Through her work on the Board of the Association of Municipalities of Ontario and the Share-the-Road Coalition Diane helped to deliver Ontario’s first Bicycle Summit.  This summit led to the creation of the Bicycle friendly community awards in Ontario as well as the first Provincial cycling strategy.
For her work in building a cycling friendly Ontario, Diane received a Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee medal and a cycling leadership award from the Share-The-Road Coalition.
Spurred by the lack of licensed childcare space in Waterloo Region and a desire to inspire Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics learning in children, Diane led the incorporation, design, development, and fundraising of a 10,500 square foot not-for-profit childcare centre in Waterloo called the Butterfly Learning Centre. 
Close ×

Subscribe to the Share The Road Newsletter

Join the STR Mailing List :